My First Company Dinner

It had been a month since I started working and finally…I had been asked to attend a school staff dinner at my main school- my very first!

I figured it’d be on a pay-as-you-go basis but instead I had to pay a flat rate of 90,000 won for the whole year. I figured it was fair since they said that’s originally the price for half a year, but since I go to two schools they reduced the price.

So once it hit 4:30 pm, I packed up and then walked to the restaurant with my fellow teachers. We went to a little shabu shabu restaurant less than 10 minutes away. It’s kind of a buffet style restaurant so I loaded my plate with a few appetizers before sitting down at the table. Thankfully, the vice principal and principal sat at another table. If I sat with them I think I would be too intimidated to do anything ahahaha.

So, how shabu shabu works is that you grab as many vegetable you like, mostly leafy greens, cabbage, and mushrooms, and put it in a large pot in the middle of the table that already has a broth in a roiling boil.  You then order how much and what kind of meat you want. Then you can make yourself a summer roll using rice paper and filling it with whatever you please. The teachers around me started putting the vegetables and meat into the soup before telling everyone to help themselves so I started digging in once I saw everyone else had a bite since you know…I was the youngest at that table.

20170404_172215

My VP then ordered some beer, to which nearly every teacher at my table politely declined, for which I am grateful since I try not to drink. They ordered soda instead and were shocked when I told them I don’t drink soda either XD.

The teachers around me then started a casual conversation, which revolved around childcare and being a mother- a topic I can’t really contribute much to. As such, I just sat there in silence listening to them talk about how they think daughters would take care of their mothers when they’re older rather than their sons, which then led to a further discussion on each of their children. I just continued to listen in and nod my head occasionally.

The conversation then shifted somehow and led to one teacher telling me not to eat the snacks people bring to school because I’d get fat. Nice talk >_>.

Once we were done eating, some teachers brought fruit for everyone to share and I  gorged myself on oranges…I love fruit, particularly oranges. When I noticed no one else was eating them after a while I nearly finished the plate!

We got up after the 2 hour mark and I was thankful we were leaving. As I made my way to the exit, a familiar face popped out from behind the corner…and I saw the teachers from my girl’s middle school! It took my brain a bit to process what was happening before I broke into a wide smile and bowed before the vice principal and principal. What a coincidence to run into them at this restaurant!

Anyways, after that we parted ways. The principal happened to be heading in the same direction so I walked in awkward silence with her until we neared the school. I gave a polite bow and goodbye before heading to the metro station and she went back to school.

Overall, the dinner was a lot more casual than I imagined. I envisioned drunk coworkers and people trying to force me to drink and then dragging me to karaoke, but luckily it really was just a company dinner.

I’ve had another dinner with the teachers from my girl’s middle school, and we went to another shabu shabu place. It was pretty much the same, (except the surprise of pink water?!) with them talking about topics I couldn’t contribute much to, and just sitting silently while devouring all the food.

20170412_174117(0).jpg

How are your company dinners? Did you enjoy them? Let me know in the comments section below~! 😉

 

Leave a Reply

