My Typical Day

I haven’t written in so long, sorry!

So, although each day is (obviously) different, there are some aspects that are typically the same from day to day so I thought I’d share my “typical” day.

I usually wake up a little after 7 am…rather late, I know. I eat breakfast half of the time, and it’s either fruit, usually a banana, grilled cheese, or cereal. If I’m running late, I starve hahaha. I’m out of my door by 7:30 and take the subway Line 2 to my school. On Thursdays and Fridays, I wait by an intersection for a teacher to pick me up at around 8 am.

Upon reaching school, I change into my indoor shoes and head to the teacher’s office. First thing I do is greet the Vice Principal. I do this everyday. It still feels super awkward around them even after a month though XD. After that, I sit at my desk and kinda stare off into space. Sometimes there’s food for people to share, and once, I walked to my desk and found a random boiled egg on it. Apparently, it was from the Vice Principal XD. On Mondays and Wednesdays, I go to my morning class and just casually chat in English with the girls Badminton team. After that, I start teaching my other classes with my coteachers. At my main school, I teach only year 1 and 2 but I teach all students at my second school. The first years are adorable and quick to listen to my directions, even if they remain a little distracted from time to time. The second years….are iffy lol. Sometimes I can rarely get them to pay attention. Other times its so quiet and they listen so well that it’s rather unnerving. The third years feel a bit more mature and listen to me pretty well :D.

I eat lunch with other teachers in the teacher’s cafeteria area. The food is buffet style and everyday is different with the exception of rice, kimchi, and a type of soup/stew. I usually walk around outside the school to get some air and sunlight with fellow teachers after eating while chatting with them in English or Korean, depending on the teacher. My students have, even though I’ve told them I can speak Korean, discovered that I indeed do speak Korean and they’re in a frenzy about it. The other day, I walked around the inner courtyard by the pond at our school when I heard, “(my name) TEACHERRRRRRRR” as a group of 1st year girls sprinted towards me and gave me a hug one at a time. Then they ran off and continued doing whatever it was they were doing before I neared them. So. Cute. AGH.

After lunch, I usually lesson plan (aka desk warm) for the rest of the day at my main school. I teach more classes at my second school. I also make sure to drink coffee after lunch because that’s when I get the sleepiest. There is also an abundance of snacks and I help myself to one treat a day. If some teacher is feeling generous, they sometimes bring fruit and everyone gets to enjoy them. I particularly love when they bring strawberries <3.

So, while I’m at my desk, students come and go to talk with various teachers, always making sure to (sometimes tentatively) say hello to me. Once the clock hits 4:30 pm I get ready to leave. I say goodbye to the teachers and then to the Vice Principal, always making sure to do a 90 degree bow, before I leave. On Mondays-Wednesdays, students are generally walking home at the same time and they always say hello. I get a ride home on Thursday-Friday.

Once I get home, I either go back out after changing bags or stay inside like a hermit crab. If I go out, I usually explore the Deokcheon area and shop for things on an as-needed basis. If I’m feeling particularly tired or in a good mood, I’ll treat myself to a yummy street food. I like to get Hoddeok, which is like a Korean street pancake filled with sugar, cinnamon, and a variety of seeds. It’s only 1000 won so how can I not?!

If I stay home, I prepare making dinner early since cooking rice in a pot takes a long time. I then watch stuff before washing up and chatting with family. I head to bed around 10 pm – 12 am. Aaaand the cycle begins again. This is generally all I do during the weekdays and my weekends are generally always different.

So yeah, pretty normal. How are your day-to-day activities? Please let me know in the comment section below~ 😉

3 thoughts on “My Typical Day

  1. chaxmi says:

    Hahaha I go to bed from like midnight – 5AM, wake up anywhere from 10AM – noon, get ready to go to work, then work from 2 – 10 PM on Mondays through Thursdays. Other than that, my day to day is different on my three day weekends. Either a lot of sleep and laziness or going out and doing things with friends.

    Like

      • chaxmi says:

        Hahaha well when things aren’t too busy it isn’t so bad. I’m not a fan of some of what I do and some drama came up last night that I don’t feel comfortable sharing publicly, but otherwise it usually isn’t too bad. I work 4 nights, get off for 3 days, not too terrible.

        Like

Leave a Reply

