My 1st Full Week of Teaching

Oh wow. I’m exhausted. I just finished my first full week of teaching and I think it can be summed up in one word: exhausting.

I started Monday at my main middle school. I have three classes + 1 badminton class on Mondays and Wednesdays and only 2 classes on Tuesday. The badminton class is just conversations with 8 members of the girl’s badminton team. I don’t actually teach them how to play because God knows I don’t know a thing about it. I have to arrive at school by 8 for the badminton course but I get to leave early at 4. I only teach 1st and 2nd years at my main middle school and can I just say….the 1st years are so cute.

At my secondary middle school I teach 5 classes a day, 4 in a row in the morning and 1 after lunch. The schedule is tough and I’ll admit…I taught my introduction lesson 22 times and it was getting hard to mentally keep up. Once I started teaching my actual English lessons this week though, with different classes and lessons, it became easier.

The students at the girl’s middle school are much more curious about me than at my main school. At one point, before my 101 class, I saw students entering the classroom next to mine. I had the feeling they were supposed to be in my classroom so I tried talking to them. Now, it was my first time meeting them and they were then suddenly all around me, like curious little puppies, asking me who I was, where I came from, why I looked Korean, could I speak Korean- all at once. They were so cute so I asked them if they were class 101 and turns out they were! They were all like, OHHHHHHH and moved all their stuff into my classroom. SO CUTE. They just swarmed me out of nowhere and that was a sight to hold. lakdjflakdfdslkj, so cuteee.

If I had to compare the two schools…both are quite similar. They’re both in an area of lower-class families, students at both have limited English, both school are old, and both have limited technology (although the girl’s middle school has a bit more). But, I do find that it’s easier to teach at the all girl’s middle school. I wonder why? Maybe it’s because the students aren’t as curious about the opposite gender so they have fewer distractions. I did mention this, but the 2nd years at my main school are so distant. They don’t want to learn English. But at the girl’s middle school, it’s so easy to get them excited and raring to learn English. Hmm. All of the students at both school are good though. I haven’t had to worry about anything yet.

As for my coteachers, emphasis on the plural here, they’re all nice. I have coteachers. If you’re at an elementary school, I think you only have 1 coteacher? But I have 7!! I find that they all get confused as to when they’re supposed to teach with me. I ended up teaching one lesson today by myself! I was okay because I know Korean, but I swore to only speak English. I had to get a student who was better at English to translate for the rest of the class. After, my coteacher for that class felt so sorry that she forgot! And also, at my main school, I was still getting used to finding my way around. I went to one class and found that there were no students! Apparently the coteacher for that class decided to change classrooms and went ahead of me without telling me. She was also supposed to take me to that classroom, but she didn’t. I had to rely on another teacher to show me, so when we found the empty classroom we were both very confused.

This leads to my next topic! So the same coteacher who didn’t tell me she moved rooms is also a new teacher, like me. She’s also around my age, so rather young. I teach two classes of 2nd years with her and I don’t look forward to them. Not because of coteacher though! It’s just that I feel like the students disregard the both of us and we both have a hard time managing them. If anyone has any good classroom management tips, I’m all ears!

Leave a Reply

