Orientation Cont’d! And Field Trip Time!

I’ll discuss days 3-4 of orientation in this post, which includes lots of classes and of course, a field trip to Haeundae beach and the UNMCK.

Day 3 was just filled with straight up lectures ranging from TEFL in the elementary classroom, storytelling, the history of Hangul, and cooperative learning. They were all very informative and helped reinforce the teaching skills I learned in grad school. It was also rainy all day and downright gloomy. I didn’t go out that night because I was too tired and wanted to update this blog. I did, however, explore the convenience store in the basement level of the dorm and bought myself some snacks for the bus tomorrow as well as a travel card and umbrella.

Now on to the exciting topic: the field trip!!!!

Our first stop was the APEC House, which is where the G20 summit meeting was held. After that was Haeundae beach. Luckily, the weather was bright and sunny and the beach view was absolutely stunning. We had about 1.5 hours of free time so a couple of friends and I decided to try and go shopping. We couldn’t find anything for a while but finally stumbled upon a nice little shopping street. We went inside a Daiso (Like a Dollar Tree) and splurged (well, at least I did!) on some cute stuff.

After that was lunch at BEXCO. I had gomtang/곰탕 and it was delicious. I wiped my bowls clean!

We went to the UNMCK (United Nations Memorial Cemetery in Korea) afterwards. We watched a short video and were allowed to roam the grounds as we pleased. There was a guided tour a bit later, but it was optional so my friends and I decided to just wait near the area where we watched the video. But I do have a small warning for you guys here: Be polite. I get that everyone is excited that they’re in Korea and with a group of new friends, but this is a cemetery. Don’t speak/laugh loudly in a disrespectful manner. Also, my friend told me that two girls who sat next to her during the video were all like, “OMG Can we like, not watch this?” …..Seriously? Why are you even here? This is not your country. This is Korea. You know, the place you’re going to live in for the next year or so? Maybe you should, I dunno, take the time to honor its history and culture? But like seriously? WHY. ARE. YOU. HERE. If you want to come to Korea to look around, come during your vacation. EPIK is meant for people who go to Korea to work. Not play. Get it straight.

20170223_212718

Once we got back to BUFS, we had free time for the rest of the day. It’s technically called, “networking” but it’s actually just free time. My friends and I headed to the Busan University area by subway and did some shopping, which was uber fun. We ate a lot of street food, such as oden and spicy rice cakes/떡뽁기. I then bought some essentials like shampoo/conditioner and also some cosmetics from Etude House. We took a taxi back and I ended up leaving my bag of Etude House goods in the taxi T-T Worth about $50 and I’ll never see them again sigh. So another warning! There is a driver profile in the taxi. Take a pic or memo of it so that if something like this happens, you’re prepared. One of my friends also left her name tag and room key (which costs 50,000 won to replace!) in a shop! Luckily, the shop owner called EPIK since there were phone numbers on the back of the name tag. We went out the next day during lunch to retrieve it, thank goodness! So lesson of the day: Don’t be an ignorant jerk in Korea, but do remember to keep your belongings with you! And have fun! You’re mainly here to work, but enjoy it. Just not, you know, in a bad way.

One thought on “Orientation Cont’d! And Field Trip Time!

  1. chaxmi says:

    How rude, I understand people want to go visit Korea, but there are better ways to do it. They just want to go there and get paid to do so, but won’t honor or respect the effort the EPIK program is putting in to share this with them? They need a smack to the butt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

